Transitions

A Note about Password Protected Posts: I’ve been feeling the need to keep some kinds of topics here more private recently, especially as I have been wanting to write about family planning and other more personal topics. I’m just not comfortable posting about that where anyone with Internet access, including people who work(ed) with me and with my husband, can read it.   So, if you’ve noticed some of those protected posts showing up lately, that’s what’s going on. Thanks for your understanding! 

In news that’s fit to share, the school year is rapidly coming to a close. Today marks the first day of finals week. Time to take a deep breath, tighten my grip, and hang on. A week from today, I will be submitting grades for all my courses and, with completely dry eyes, bidding the semester adieu. I’ve just got to get through all the final exams and the grading between now and then.

And then, summer, glorious summer! This year will be the Summer of The New House! Our closing date happens to be the last day of finals, but we’ve got a few things to get done in the new house before we move in. Mainly, we need to paint and to buy a refrigerator and have it delivered. We also are in the market for a new couch and some bookcases. Possibly also a new dining table. But the paint and the fridge are the only things that need to happen before the move, so we’re thinking the end of May would be a good target date.

I am both eagerly anticipating and anxiously dreading the process. There’s always so much to do — no matter how well prepared and organized I think I am ahead of time, by the end of the packing process, I inevitably find myself disheveled and cursing as I shove random leftover items into a garbage bag. Sure, this assortment of coat hangers, cleaning products, dog leashes, and flower pots can all go in this bag!  That makes perfect sense! Dammit.

You know how it goes. Moving is the WORST, am I right?

PaintYou know what is the BEST, though? Setting up the new place. That’s my favorite part. I can’t wait to do that.  (Well, except the part where I have to help CW hang up the art and he does like 87 unnecessary steps in his measurement calculations and then asks me endless questions every time he moves something by a quarter inch — but I digress.) The two of us have been looking at photos online to get some inspiration for paint colors and this past weekend we finally went and looked at paint chips at Lowe’s and found some good options. I expected this to be a lot harder than it actually turned out to be. I think we are pretty much decided on the color palette, but need to iron out the details of exactly which color goes where. I am also grateful to be able to say that we did not kill each other during the discussion. Even though we often have vastly differing opinions about those things in the beginning, we usually wind up agreeing before too long. The Wrong person just has to come around to seeing the Right side, is all.

One thing that’s sort of stressing me out a bit is the thought of all our stuff and where exactly we’re going to be able to put it. The new place is the same size and number of rooms as our current rental house (3 bed, 2 bath, living, dining, kitchen, laundry), but we’re going to be configuring it differently. At the moment, we have a master bedroom, a guest bedroom with my desk in it (90% of the time this is my office, but when guests are here, it becomes a guest room), and the third bedroom is exclusively CW’s home office, and also the room where his closet is.

In the new house, we’ll have three bedrooms again, but we are planning to just go ahead and plan for the future we want, setting one of the rooms aside for Future Baby Wicklet. So we’ll have a master bedroom, a guest room with two desks in it (shared office 90% of the time, guest room when needed), and a future baby room. It’s going to be a tight squeeze to get both our desks into the guest room, and — perhaps an even bigger issue — CW won’t have a room to be his own space anymore. All our separate office stuff is going to have to share one zip code, so that will take some creative arranging, but I think we are up to the task.

Sharing a closet, on the other hand? Nevermind. I don’t want to talk about it.

2 thoughts on “Transitions

  1. HaleyComet May 5, 2015 / 7:13 pm

    I know you don’t know me, but I do enjoy reading your posts and have been sending the best thoughts when I see your protected posts. We are in the home-buying process as well, a couple weeks behind you, and feel your excitement & stress! The ‘new place decorating’ is the best!

    • ravelingoutko May 7, 2015 / 9:35 am

      Thank you for the good thoughts! And best of luck to you on your own home-buying adventure. It’s stressful, but the fun part is just around the corner!

Leave a Reply

