Final January Check-In

January is over! My goal for the month was to reset my eating habits back to somewhere near the land of normal and healthy — which could have been quite the challenge after the free-for-all of November and December. Oh, how fondly I remember the pie. The champagne. The candy. The nog. Sigh.

In the end, I think my reset succeeded. With the exception of one serving of bourbon at a birthday party and one glass of wine at a work dinner, I successfully avoided alcohol for the whole month. I also successfully avoided any sweets with added sugar (fruit was OK), white flour, deep-fried things, and obvious junk food. It was basically lots of fruits and vegetables and healthy snacks all month long, and it felt great!

You may recall me mentioning that I had managed to gain about 12 pounds during the holiday months — some of which, I’m sure, was simple bloating, but some of which was legit weight gain. I didn’t think I’d be able to lose it all during the month of January, but I figured I’d get a good start. And I did. As of yesterday, I have lost exactly 10 pounds since December 31st. I’d still like to lose maybe 5-8 vanity pounds, but I’m feeling good and my pants are fitting nicely, so I’m already quite satisfied at this point. At the very least, I’d like to maintain comfortably, which should be very feasible. Snacks Going forward, I am going to keep my diet very much like it has been this past month, with the exception of just normal, moderate treats (wine, dessert, fries, etc.) for special occasions or just for fun. It would be nice if I can remember that treats are not treats anymore if you’re having them for every meal, but that lesson seems impossible sometimes. I hear there are some people in the world who do not have that problem. Bastards.

Leave a Reply

