What Happened on Bloomsday

There is some exciting news around these parts, namely that I am getting married! To this guy! MARRIED!

Can you tell we are both pretty happy about it?

I think a lot of you already guessed my news the other day, when I tweeted that I was “having a REALLY GOOD DAY.” But! How did you know I didn’t receive a deposit in my bank account from a deposed Nigerian prince? Or find out I was pregnant? Or have some really excellent blueberry pancakes? Or hear news of an enemy’s demise? Huh? It could have been anything, really.

On Sunday, CW and I went out for breakfast at the Irish pub in order to celebrate Bloomsday (the date of the events of James Joyce’s Ulysses, because yes, we are nerds for Irish Modernism; who isn’t?). I did, in fact, have some really excellent blueberry pancakes there. We’d gotten an early start to the day, so after breakfast we “wound up” going on a lazy Sunday drive, which seemed quite spontaneous but must have actually been planned to land us at the beautiful arboretum on campus, where we walked around and explored for a while and then sat on a park bench and talked for a while and then he asked me to marry him. And yes I said I will yes.

It was a total surprise. Probably the best surprise ever. The moment was so perfect and sweet and my heart was all a-flutter. (Oh, and CW has excellent taste in jewelry: he chose an engagement ring in the exact style I would have picked for myself, and he did it with no suggestions from me at all. It is beautiful and I love it.)

For a long time, I didn’t imagine that I would be the kind of person who got married. It seemed like such a distant, unreal idea that I would meet and fall in love with a man who would fall in love with me right back. But I did, and he did, and now we will.

15 thoughts on “What Happened on Bloomsday

  1. Pseudostoops June 18, 2013 / 8:03 pm

    Oh I’m so happy for you! What a great engagement story.

  2. Clarabella June 18, 2013 / 9:18 pm

    Whee! I’m so excited for you. I had forgotten it was Bloomsday. But how poetic, no? Lovely.

  3. Beth June 18, 2013 / 9:42 pm

    SHUT. UP!!!! What fabulous news! Congratulations!!

  4. Jessica June 18, 2013 / 10:36 pm

    This is WONDERFUL news! Congrats on the engagement! And that sounds like a wonderful morning too!

    I love that last paragraph, how you can consider yourself a certain type of person for so long and then someone special comes along and sees you in a special light and oh! suddenly you actually are like almost everyone else. It’s almost like finding out you do have ten toes and fingers.

  5. Katie June 18, 2013 / 11:43 pm

    Ahhhh! Congratulationnnnnns!!!

  6. Sho June 19, 2013 / 1:36 am

    Whoa! Congrats! Wooooo!!!

  7. Chrissy June 19, 2013 / 6:49 am

    Congratulations, you sweet, lovely, crazy kids! I’m so happy for you. Yay, love!

  8. KO June 19, 2013 / 8:54 am

    Thank you so much, everybody! I am excited to be able to tell you all!

  9. RA June 19, 2013 / 9:57 am

    Wahooooo! Congratulations! So very exciting! May you not disappear into the vortex that is Weddings on Pinterest, amen. 🙂

  10. Kristen June 19, 2013 / 12:05 pm

    OMG! Yay! So happy — congratulations to you both!

  11. Amy June 19, 2013 / 4:05 pm

    Oh, huge congratulations!

  12. carrie June 19, 2013 / 9:55 pm

    Wow! Congratulations to you & CW!!! Very exciting!

  13. Rose-Anne June 20, 2013 / 11:08 am

    ERMERGERD! Hurray! What wonderful, exciting, fantastic news! I am so happy for you, friend. Isn’t love grand? Yay!

  14. Alexis June 22, 2013 / 5:51 pm

    Hooray! Happy journey, you two.

  15. C June 23, 2013 / 12:32 am

    Oh I am SO excited for you! Congratulations!!! Wishing you all the very best for your future together.

    As a long-time lurker, first-time commenter, there can be no better time to ‘out’ myself 🙂 You give my lacklustre love-life heart that there is hope for me yet…

Leave a Reply

