20 January 2009 – Yes We Did!

Inauguration Day – it’s finally here!

As you all know, I’ve been a big fan and supporter of Barack Obama, and I was absolutely overjoyed at his win in November. Because I’m lucky enough to have Tuesdays off teaching, I’ll be snuggling in at home and watching the inauguration and his first presidential address.

Oh indeed.
Oh indeed.

I’ve been inspired by Obama’s message throughout his campaign and before, and I wish him all the success in the world as he gets ready to take the helm at this promblem riddled time in our country. I’m ready to see the change unfold here, both from the government and from us as citizens — I hope that all of us who feel similarly inspired will find ways we can contribute.

I’d love to be classy and not say the following, but I have to: Thank dog George W. Bush is no longer our president. THANK DOG. I have never been happier to see a man leave his office. I hope that the days of bull-headed, obnoxious, blindly stamp-footed American policy are now well behind us.  Good riddance to bad rubbish.

And let’s, on this wonderful day, send out a resounding cheer and a vow to work towards a better America!

2 thoughts on “20 January 2009 – Yes We Did!

  1. Alexis January 21, 2009 / 7:10 pm

    Except for the odd embarrassing war memorial, we don’t really do patriotism where I come from (and I’m keener on the idea of community than nation anyway). Still, it’s warmed my cynical cockles to see American people brimming over with a sense of what each one of them can do to do good together. (I get like this when I read stories of hundreds of nineteenth-century trade unionists going on strike without pay to protect the job of a fourteen-year-old girl. Nothing like a bit of good old fashioned solidarity.) Of course, different people will have different ideas about what the good is, and I guess this rare moment of collective hope and passion will diffuse a bit as people realise that, but for now it’s enough to relish what folks’ hopes have in common.
    Mazel tov.

  2. Alfina the Vague January 26, 2009 / 4:31 pm

    Thanks — I really hope the enthusiasm carries over for a while!

Leave a Reply

