Mad Awkward

Last week’s episode of Mad Men was chock full of awkward moments!  Without further commentary, let’s just appreciate a few of them:

Shiela Will Not Truck with Paul's Selfishness
Shiela will not truck with Paul's selfishness.
Betty had had it up to HERE.
Betty had had it up to HERE.
Pete tries to smarm Peggy, but she remains unmoved.
Pete tries to smarm Peggy, but she remains unmoved.
Neighbor kid is about to get his creepy neighbor heart STOMPED.
Neighbor Kid is about to get his creepy neighbor heart STOMPED.
Paul pontificates about advertising and Marxism.
Paul pontificates about advertising and Marxism.

And , as usual, there were plenty of scenes that were just plain pretty.  Because I can never resist Mad Men’s sets, props, and wardrobe, here are a few pretty things from last week:

Betty contemplates a portrait of her mother.
Betty contemplates a portrait of her mother.

Betty’s contemplation of this portrait of her mother, coming just after we were shown the crass, gauche, unattractive stepmother, was quietly telling.

And here’s Don getting undressed (OH YES INDEED):

Secret Red Lining!
Secret Red Lining!

Did you know his gray flannel jacket had a secret red lining?  I never noticed that before.  What a lovely surprise.

Finally, I spent quite a while admiring the cups in use at this baby shower for Harry Crane, held in the Sterling Cooper offices:

I would like to serve cocktails out of these at my next party.
I would like to serve cocktails out of these at my next party.

Are they paper cups? Plastic? Glass?  I do not even know, but I can tell you that I WANT SOME.  I bet Joan knows where to get them.  Damn it all, why are Joan and I not friends in real life?

2 thoughts on “Mad Awkward

  1. mel October 11, 2008 / 11:03 pm

    smarm! you verbed it!

  2. Alfina the Vague October 12, 2008 / 1:35 am

    Well, although I might have verbed it, you know, verbally, I have to give props to Pete for verbing it with his actions.

    Whenever “smarm” makes it into the OED as a verb, they will have a date reference that points to Mad Men, and Pete in particular.

Leave a Reply

