RIP DFW

David Foster Wallace, American Writer and Genius, 1962-2008
David Foster Wallace, American Writer and Genius, 1962-2008

This is the worst news. We’re all devastated.

I guess I forgot to link to the news story, but there isn’t really a good one yet.  Here are the google news results instead.  If you really want to read something, though, go read this.  I just read it again and then I cried. That is all.

Reader Silliyak sends along this link to a column in the SF Gate, which is a nice one.

4 thoughts on “RIP DFW

  1. HA HA HA September 14, 2008 / 8:27 am

    Jesus. That’s horrible.

  2. Ruby September 14, 2008 / 1:23 pm

    What? I mean…. WHAT????

  3. Alfina the Vague September 14, 2008 / 2:58 pm

    I know. I can’t even imagine….I mean, ugh. I don’t know. There will never be another novel now? Really? DAMN IT TO HELL.

    (It’s a good thing I did not try to write an actual post, because I am beyond inarticulate right now.)

  4. Katie September 15, 2008 / 3:34 pm

    Thanks for the link – just read the commencement speech and I loved it. I work at a college counseling center and I may just print this thing out and hand it to my clients. And to my family members.

    What a terrible terrible loss.

Leave a Reply

