Don't Believe Me? Look it Up.

deep seated vs deep seeded – The first one is correct. A feeling or attitude is seated deep within you. No gardening is involved.

faze vs phase – Two completely different words! I know, right? Don’t let it faze you.

cache vs cachet – Having a hidden cache [sounds like cash] of cash might give you a little cachet [sounds like cash-ay].

stage left vs house/camera leftStage left is left from the point of view of the stage, house or camera left is left from the point of view of the house or camera. I haven’t heard ANYONE use these correctly in AT LEAST the last year, no exaggeration.

prodigal – The prodigal son wasn’t prodigal because he came back. His behavior before he returned was prodigal. It has nothing to do with returning.

7 thoughts on “Don't Believe Me? Look it Up.

  1. John August 11, 2008 / 10:09 am

    Are these student (as in university student) mistakes?

  2. Alfina the Vague August 11, 2008 / 1:50 pm

    Sadly, they are peer mistakes. (Fellow bloggers and colleagues.) Since I can’t be this rude to people in person or in the comments sections of their blogs, I reserve the rudeness for here.

  3. jair August 11, 2008 / 9:42 pm

    Some of those should be blindingly obvious though, shouldn’t they? Especially the prodigal son – ‘the prodigal son returns’ is the standard phrase, is it not?

  4. Alfina the Vague August 11, 2008 / 9:49 pm

    Right! I think it’s the phrase that confuses people, though — like maybe he was prodigal because he returned? And it’s a redundant/tautological phrase? I don’t even know sometimes.

  5. John August 12, 2008 / 2:19 am

    It seems that they don’t make the connection between the verbal and the written. I mean, verbally it’s obvious…apparently when written it is not so.

  6. Ruby August 12, 2008 / 2:45 am

    Thanks for pointing out the faze/phase. I have such a difficult time convincing people that faze is a word.

  7. Alfina the Vague August 12, 2008 / 12:10 pm

    J- Good point. It probably has a lot do do with that. When I was a kid, I read so much that I knew lots of words in writing, but ad no idea how to say them. I bet everyone has that disconnection on some level.

    R – I know! I think if people haven’t seen that one written down, they think “faze” is just some bad spelling a la text messaging or the lolcats.

Leave a Reply

