Because You Surely DO Care What I Am Having for Lunch

I never post recipes, but I think it’s high time I do, only because I have to share the salad that is saving my summer. It is so fucking hot around here that basically all I want to eat, all I can imagine eating, is boatloads of fresh fruit and vegetables. This is what I have been doing with the carloads of produce I have been schlepping home from the grocery stores and roadside stands of New Wye:

Dinner

I’ve made a million variations on this salad, but here’s how to make the one pictured above. You’ll need:

1 ripe (but not too soft) avocado, cut in chunks
1 mango, cut in chunks
1/2 red onion, coarsely diced
handful of grape tomatoes, sliced in half lengthwise
handful of cucumber slices or chunks
handful of cilantro, coarsely chopped
juice of 1/2 lime (or other citrus fruit)
drizzle of olive oil
salt & pepper
protein: any type of bean will do — here I used pintos — or you can add chicken or something if you’re feeling meatier.

Basically, just combine it all together. My only tip is that immediately after you dump your avocado into the bowl, take a second to squeeze the lime juice directly over it, then go back to the rest of your chopping. The lime juice will prevent the avocado from turning brown.

This is great by itself, as a side dish (above I am having it with my honey-chili-lime-glazed tilapia, which is super easy and only requires the stove to be on for 4 minutes), in a pita, with tortilla chips, etc. You can also tweak it: using sesame oil and chick peas instead of olive oil and pintos makes it taste more Asian than Mexican, for example. You can also futz around with different fruits and vegetables in whatever manner you choose. The important part is this: an idiot can make this in less than ten minutes and not even break a sweat. I will be eating it until approximately September.

4 thoughts on “Because You Surely DO Care What I Am Having for Lunch

  1. Diana July 17, 2008 / 9:23 am

    That sounds and looks delicious! Last night I had two different kinds of salad for dinner.

  2. Ruby July 17, 2008 / 9:51 pm

    That looks totally yummy! I wish avocados weren’t so damn expensive right now…

  3. Alexis July 17, 2008 / 10:09 pm

    Avocado is Spanish for “lawyer”,* which might explain the expense.

    Meanwhile, by George, that’s a fine figger of a lunch. It’s giving me saladlust, even though hereabouts it’s 6 degrees Celsius and raining torrents.

    * This is almost true.

  4. Alfina the Vague July 18, 2008 / 6:58 pm

    Damn lawyers! Well, here anyway, they’re only 79 cents apiece, which is a fair enough price, I think.

    Alexis, that weather sounds excellent. I am actually jealous. (We never had a real winter and I am dying here, DYING I TELL YOU.) Although, yeah, maybe not salad weather.

Leave a Reply

