What I'm Listening to Tonight: Thriller

Obviously, you need no introduction to The King of Pop. What you may not know, though, if you don’t watch all of the dance shows I do, is that this year is the 25th anniversary of Thriller, one of the greatest albums of our time. Oh yes, indeed.

Dance shows have been capitalizing on the excellence of Thriller, making contestants do Thriller-related routines as part of the competitions. Rightfully so! MJ’s awesomely funky beats will make anything and everything better, even if that anything is a badly produced and badly edited dance crew competition show that should have been replete with extreme awesomeness and, disappointingly, was not. Randy Jackson Presents America’s Best Dance Crew, I am looking at you.

The reason Michael Jackson makes everything better is that when listening to his music it is completely impossible not to jump up off of your butt and start shaking your thang. This is as true today as it was 25 years ago. When the album came out, I was in kindergarten. I listened to it day in and day out, until my stupid mother got so sick of it (and so sick of the awesome dace routine I was choreographing to it, which necessitated a lot of couch jumping and, possibly, some crashing around into other furniture) that she took the cassette tape away. Luckily I am an adult now with my own furniture to jump on and my own very loud stereo. Well, what are you gonna do NOW, MOTHER? MWA HA HA HA HA.

Now that that’s out of my system, let’s listen to some tracks:

Billie Jean

Beat It

Thriller

2 thoughts on “What I'm Listening to Tonight: Thriller

  1. Brandon June 13, 2008 / 2:52 pm

    My Really Bad, Short Poem About Thriller

    Never shall my ears hear a trio of pop tracks so divine,
    As Thriller, Beat It and Billie Jean, all in a line,
    Their beats cause involuntary booty-shaking,
    over the decades, countless instances of baby-making,
    quite unusual, given the songs’ lyrics,
    of child custody battles, gang violence and horror atmospherics

Leave a Reply

