Office Hours Blues

Another Monday, another morning spent in the office, ostensibly waiting for students to show up and seek my counsel. This week, I suspect several of them might actually show, which would be unusual. They do have a paper due tomorrow, though, and it’s one about which there has been a simmering panic for the last couple of weeks.

In class I have heard them whining and groaning ad nauseam: “Oh, it’s so haaaaard. I can’t believe we have to find three sources! That is so many!” And yet, there is also, “How can I write five whole pages about three sources? I just don’t have enough to say!” While, on the whole, I feel like telling them that if they do not have enough to say to fill five measly pages, they should try, you know, actually thinking, because it might help to have the barest ghostly whisper of an idea somewhere in their heads, I have not said this. I have been nothing but nice and encouraging. “Come by and see me!” I say, chirpily. “We will figure out what you need to add.”

So, anticipating that conferences would be extra-busy for this haaaaaaard paper, I made sure to free up plenty of time, most of which (as you no doubt can guess) I spent sitting on my ass, twiddling my thumbs, and looking at pictures of puppies on the internet. No fewer than four people told me they would be stopping by office hours today, but as of now, none has. La la la. I guess It’s back to the puppies.

In other time-wasting news, allow me to mention again the awesomeness that is Rate Your Students, the site where university faculty submit anonymous and often hilarious screeds. This one in particular resonated with me today. And if you need even more procrastination fodder, maybe you want to visit my media blog? I have started a new category called “Film Reviews for Ladies” – there is only one so far, but I think it is going to be a thing.

Now that I have all of that out of my system, I suppose I will get back to work. As long as I’m here, I may as well get some reading done. (Cue student knock on door as soon as I crack a book.)

4 thoughts on “Office Hours Blues

  1. John April 7, 2008 / 11:45 am

    I’m still trying to figure out why these kids are attending university if it isn’t for the learning. Surely beer and ass can be had without having to pay 30,000 dollars per year to sleep in a concrete cell…or am I missing something?

  2. Alfina the Vague April 7, 2008 / 1:15 pm

    I honestly think in many cases it is because their families expect them to. That or they think it’s an easy ticket to a job (yeah, RIGHT).

  3. John April 7, 2008 / 1:42 pm

    If my family had paid the thousands of dollars required for me to receive a higher education and learned that I had spent that money on booze and women, I’m sure more than my toes would have gotten broken. In fact, I think my life would have been terminated.

    As for the “easy ticket to a [high-paying] job”, all I have to say is: Nuh-uh!!

    Others may disagree with me (at the risk of having their toes broken!), but I see a notable lack of the “achievement takes effort” axiom amongst the younger generations. Not in all cases mind you, but it does appear pronounced. But them I’m old and bitter, so what do I know?

  4. Timothy April 12, 2008 / 1:40 pm

    Largely they go because their families expect them to and you can blag your way through a business degree straight to middle class. I’m not kidding. If you don’t mind either hating what you’re doing, or you’re one of innumerable dullards who end up in “business” at varying levels (starting with cubicle drone and moving up through “manager of several cubicle drones) it is entirely possible to not learn anything in college.

    Some people call that success, I call it giving the hell up, but it’s what happens. Heck, it took getting out of school and being a cubicle drone for a few years for me to really realize what a godawful thing it is. At least this go round I’m working hard enough at school to actually get something out of it.

Leave a Reply

