Poetry, Tornadoes, Tattoos

My night last night was unusually eventful. It started out with a stupidly self-induced bloody nose (only I, who once broke a finger trying to pull up a sock, could possibly bloody my nose while putting on make-up), and then proceeded to contain tornadoes (and the first ever tornado siren since I moved here), a poetry reading containing references to someone’s spooge, tequila, electric bluegrassy rock, and a lot of tattoos.

Beyond that, there are a few things I have to say:

Poetry: Do not go back and read the poems you wrote in college, even if it is late at night and you feel cushioned by drink. Know that they are incontrovertibly bad. Just take my word for this.

Tornadoes: they seem somewhat scary. Perhaps scarier than the lurking threat of earthquakes, volcanoes, and tsunamis. After all, there are usually not sirens for those things.

Tattoos: If you have one, I now know the bar for you in New Wye. It makes me indescribably happy to know where the people not clad in khaki go to play pool and hear music. Yay!

Drink: There is a very refreshing drink you should have when the weather is warm. It is gin, club soda, and a splash of orange juice. Add lime. You are welcome. Cheers.

3 thoughts on “Poetry, Tornadoes, Tattoos

  1. John April 6, 2008 / 1:58 am

    I broke a girlfriend’s toe once – it was winter and I had on big boots. It was Canada, eh? She basically stubbed her toe on my boot. There was this sickening “cracking” nose and she started screaming. Then for 3 months it was “did you know he broke my toe??!?” and people would look at me like I was some kind of terrible, abusive boyfriend (addendum: I am not!) whereby I would just sit and drink my beer, nodding slowly.

    Poetry: I have this problem that I can’t understand poetry and literature. I have a much easier time with math. That’s why I visit your blog – I “attend” your blog as I would attend your class – to learn stuff. About literature. Because literature/poetry interests me, but I am dismal with it. Oh yeah – I wouldn’t attend covered in axle grease.

  2. Alfina the Vague April 7, 2008 / 1:16 pm

    If you did attend covered in axle grease, though I would never know. That’s the magic of the internet! Also, no toe-breaking can happen!

  3. John April 7, 2008 / 2:40 pm

    Oh, I’m pretty sure I’d stand out like a sore toe!

    Hee!

Leave a Reply

